Types of fibroids

Besides the size and form of uterine fibroids, their position is also an important factor for the severity of symptoms and the decision taken regarding their treatment:

  • Submucosal fibroids – The wall of the uterus is covered on the inside with a layer of cells similar to the mucous membrane of the stomach and vagina. Some fibroids grow directly beneath this membrane.
  • Intramural fibroids – The womb is made up of strong muscles which expand during pregnancy and contract powerfully during childbirth. Some fibroids grow between the muscle fibres inside the thick wall of the uterus.
  • Subserosal fibroids – The outside of the uterus is covered by a special layer of skin (serous membrane). Some fibroids grow directly underneath this outer layer of the womb.
  • Pedunculated fibroids – Some submucosal and subserosal fibroids are joined to the uterus with stalk-like structures.

1. Submucosal
2. Cervix
3. Vagina
4. Subserosal (Pedunculated)
5. Subserosal
6. Cavity
7. Intramural
8. Cervical

Fibroids are classified according to their position in the womb.

Submucosal and intramural fibroids are particularly likely to cause problems with menstruation, which may be severe in some cases.